Jump to main content


All Four Provinces Pick Up RaboDirect PRO12 Awards

All Four Provinces Pick Up RaboDirect PRO12 Awards

Ospreys out-half Dan Biggar and Glasgow Warriors’ Jonny Gray were crowned the Players’ Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year respectively at tonight’s RaboDirect PRO12 Awards in the Lyceum Theatre in Edinburgh.

Dan Biggar had already been named in the RaboDirect PRO12 Dream Team for the season last week and scooped the Players’ Player of the Year award for his outstanding contribution to the Ospreys’ season.

Voted for by the 12 RaboDirect PRO12 captains and ambassadors, the Ospreys out-half beat Glasgow Warriors’ Niko Matawalu and Ulster’s Ruan Pienaar to the title in an incredibly tight vote.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

He follows in the footsteps of Tommy Bowe, Piennar, Tim Visser and last year’s winner Nick Williams in picking up the prestigious gong.

Jonny Gray picked up the Young Player of the Year title after not only breaking into and starting in the Glasgow side, but also into the Scottish national team.

He beat Leinster centre Noel Reid to the Young Player honour and follows in the footsteps of previous winners Tim Visser, Toby Faletau, Stuart Hogg and Luke Marshall.

It was a good night for Connacht and Ulster, as they share a £10,000 cheque to put towards youth development after jointly claiming the SpecSavers Fair Play award for having the fewest yellow and red cards and citings over the 22 games.

Rob Penney won the Coach of the Year award after steering Munster into the play-offs again. His side put together a record number of wins during the campaign and finished in third place overall to set up a semi-final clash with Glasgow Warriors at Scotstoun Stadium next Friday.

Leinster legends Leo Cullen and Brian O’Driscoll both received (in absentia) the Chairman’s award in recognition of their outstanding service to their province, their country, the tournament as a whole and the game of rugby union.

Connacht took over from Scarlets as winners of the Rhino Collision Kings award after a panel of experts assessed their efficiency at the breakdown and tackling,

Munster out-half JJ Hanrahan scooped the Rhino Golden Boot award with a goal-kicking success rate of 87.30% (55 kicks out of  63). Cardiff Blues’ Gareth Davies came a close second with 86.96%.

2013/14 RaboDirect PRO12 Dream Team: Liam Williams (Scarlets); Jeff Hassler (Ospreys), Casey Laulala (Munster), Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors), Andrew Trimble (Ulster); Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Gareth Davies (Scarlets); David Kilcoyne (Munster), Sean Cronin (Leinster), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Johann Muller (Ulster) (capt), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Rhys Ruddock (Leinster), Jordi Murphy (Leinster), Robin Copeland (Cardiff Blues).


PLAYERS’ PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Dan Biggar (Ospreys)

YOUNG PLAYER OF THE YEAR – Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors)

COACH OF THE YEAR – Rob Penney (Munster)

CHAIRMAN’S AWARD – Leo Cullen and Brian O’Driscoll (both Leinster)

RHINO GOLDEN BOOT – JJ Hanrahan (Munster)


SPECSAVERS FAIRPLAY AWARD – Ulster and Connacht (shared)

TRY OF THE YEAR – Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors)

Related Links –

Provinces Well Represented On PRO12 Dream Team

Ulster Dominate PRO12 Awards