Jump to main content


Wholesale Changes For Munster’s Clash With Ulster

Wholesale Changes For Munster’s Clash With Ulster

With the squad’s strength in depth, Munster head coach Rob Penney has made a total of 10 personnel changes to the starting line-up for Saturday’s derby match against Ulster at Thomond Park (kick-off 6.30pm).

In the front row David Kilcoyne and Damien Varley come in for James Cronin and Duncan Casey respectively, with John Ryan retaining his place at tighthead prop.

Duncan Casey, who was replaced after 30 minutes against Edinburgh, met with a specialist yesterday and is undergoing surgery today on his right shoulder.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

David Foley teams up with Paul O’Connell in the second row, while Paddy Butler moves from number 8 to blindside flanker with Sean Dougall and James Coughlan completing the back row unit.

Duncan Williams starts alongside Ian Keatley in the half-backs, while the midfield combination sees the return of James Downey and Casey Laulala.

Simon Zebo switches back to the number 11 jersey with Gerhard van den Heever on the opposite wing and Felix Jones occupies the full-back position having sat out last weekend’s facile win in Edinburgh.

Click here to purchase tickets for the round 22 game between provincial rivals Munster and Ulster.

MUNSTER (v Ulster): Felix Jones; Gerhard van den Heever, Casey Laulala, James Downey, Simon Zebo; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; David Kilcoyne, Damien Varley (capt), John Ryan, David Foley, Paul O’Connell, Paddy Butler, Sean Dougall, James Coughlan.

Replacements: Quentin MacDonald, James Cronin, Alan Cotter, Billy Holland, Tommy O’Donnell, Conor Murray, JJ Hanrahan, Keith Earls.