Jump to main content


Leinster ‘A’ Team Named For Pontypridd Clash

Leinster ‘A’ Team Named For Pontypridd Clash

The Leinster ‘A’ team to face Pontypridd in Saturday afternoon’s British & Irish Cup semi-final at Sardis Road (kick-off 2.30pm) has been named.

Head coach Girvan Dempsey has named a strong Leinster ‘A’ team to face Pontypridd as his side look to continue the defence of the title they won last season in dramatic fashion against Newcastle Falcons.

There is plenty of PRO12 experience throughout the squad with a back-line that includes Noel Reid, a player with 15 league appearances and seven tries in the competition so far.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

He will be joined in midfield by Collie O’Shea, with a back-three of Darren Hudson, Brendan Macken and Sam Coghlan Murray.

Cathal Marsh, the top points scorer in this season’s British & Irish Cup with 93 points, will start in the number 10 jersey with Luke McGrath selected at scrum half.

The front row sees a return for tighthead prop Tadhg Furlong after a spell out through injury. Dominic Ryan will captain the side from the back row with centre Reid the vice-captain.

LEINSTER ‘A’ (v Pontypridd): Darren Hudson; Brendan Macken, Collie O’Shea, Noel Reid, Sam Coghlan Murray; Cathal Marsh, Luke McGrath; Edward Byrne, James Tracy, Tadhg Furlong, Tom Denton, Quinn Roux, Ben Marshall, Dominic Ryan (capt), Jack Conan.

Replacements: Bryan Byrne, Jack O’Connell, Ross Molony, Leo Auva’a, John Cooney, Steve Crosbie, Andrew Boyle.