Jump to main content


Bowe In The Centre For Ulster

Bowe In The Centre For Ulster

Tommy Bowe will start at outside centre for Ulster as the province return to RaboDirect PRO12 action against Connacht at Ravenhill on Friday (kick-off 7.05pm).

Tommy Bowe, the two-time British & Irish Lion, is joined in midfield by fellow Ireland international Luke Marshall, who will make his 50th appearance for Ulster in the game.

Ricky Andrew replaces the suspended Jared Payne at full-back with Craig Gilroy starting on the left wing.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Andrew Trimble, who suffered concussion against Saracens, has followed the necessary return-to-play protocols and starts the interprovincial derby on the right wing. Paul Marshall is selected at scrum half alongside Paddy Jackson.

Up front, Andrew Warwick makes his first start for Ulster with Rob Herring named at hooker and Ricky Lutton selected at tighthead prop.

Captain Johann Muller is joined by Iain Henderson in the second row, while Robbie Diack starts at blindside flanker with Nick Williams selected at number 8 and Chris Henry continuing at openside.

There are five forwards on the replacements bench with Niall Annett, Tom Court, Adam Macklin, Lewis Stevenson and Sean Doyle joined by backs Michael Heaney, James McKinney and Stuart McCloskey.

Darren Cave and Stephen Ferris, two more of the province’s Ireland international contingent, have been rested for the round 19 game.

There are a small number of tickets remaining for the BBC 2 Norther Ireland-televised match from the extra allocation that was released on Monday.

Tickets are available to purchase online here – they will not be available to buy on the gate.

ULSTER (v Connacht): Ricky Andrew; Andrew Trimble, Tommy Bowe, Luke Marshall, Craig Gilroy; Paddy Jackson, Paul Marshall; Andrew Warwick, Rob Herring, Ricky Lutton, Johann Muller (capt), Iain Henderson, Robbie Diack, Chris Henry, Nick Williams.

Replacements: Niall Annett, Tom Court, Adam Macklin, Lewis Stevenson, Sean Doyle, Michael Heaney, James McKinney, Stuart McCloskey.