Jump to main content


Munster Name Strong ‘A’ Team For Donnybrook Duel

Munster Name Strong ‘A’ Team For Donnybrook Duel

Head coach Peter Malone has named a strong starting line-up for his Munster ‘A’ side’s British & Irish Cup quarter-final clash with Leinster ‘A’ at Donnybrook on Friday (kick-off 7pm).

Peter Malone’s charges will be looking for a reversal of the semi-final result last season when Leinster ‘A’ beat Munster ‘A’ 17-15 at Dooradoyle.

Paddy Butler and Billy Holland both start for Munster ‘A’ and there are two sets of the brothers in the selected team – flanker Barry O’Mahony captains the side with brother Ronan at full-back, and Niall Scannell starts at hooker with brother Rory at out-half.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Ronan O’Mahony will be looking to add to his six tries in six British & Irish Cup appearances so far this season, with Andrew Conway and Luke O’Dea joining him in the back-three.

Ivan Dineen and Cian Bohane form the centre partnership and Rory Scannell is joined in the half-backs by Gerry Hurley.

Academy loosehead prop Niall Horan starts in the front row with Dolphin duo Niall Scannell and Brian Scott.

There is a good blend of youth and experience in the second row with Holland partnering Academy player Darren O’Shea.

Barry O’Mahony captains the side from the back row where he is joined by the experienced Butler, who makes his second British & Irish Cup appearance of the season, and Academy player Shane Buckley.

Young Munster hooker Ger Slattery, who scored two tries against Zebre in the PRO12 in December, starts on the bench.

The other six replacements are all members of the Greencore Munster Academy. Cork Constitution prop Rory Burke, Shannon lock Sean McCarthy and UL Bohemians back rower Jack O’Donoghue complete the forward cover.

Young Munster scrum half Brian Haugh, UL Bohemians back-three specialist David Johnston and Cork Con centre Niall Kenneally will all be hoping to make an impact.

It is the first involvement in a British & Irish Cup squad for Burke, Johnston and McCarthy, who has endured an injury-hit season.

Out-half Johnny Holland misses out as he follows the IRB return-to-play protocols after his concussion against Connacht Eagles last month.

MUNSTER ‘A’ (v Leinster ‘A’): Ronan O’Mahony; Andrew Conway, Cian Bohane, Ivan Dineen, Luke O’Dea; Rory Scannell, Gerry Hurley; Niall Horan, Niall Scannell, Brian Scott, Darren O’Shea, Billy Holland, Shane Buckley, Barry O’Mahony (capt), Paddy Butler.

Replacements: Ger Slattery, Rory Burke, Sean McCarthy, Jack O’Donoghue, Brian Haugh, David Johnston, Niall Kenneally.