Jump to main content


Fit-Again Ferris Included In Ulster Team

Fit-Again Ferris Included In Ulster Team

Stephen Ferris will start for Ulster against Edinburgh at Murrayfield on Friday night (kick-off 7.45pm) as one of six changes to the team that beat the Scarlets last weekend.

Stephen Ferris played 20 minutes against the Welsh region and is selected at blindside flanker this week as he continues his phased return to play from the ankle injury he suffered in November 2012.

Jared Payne will start at full-back with Tommy Bowe, who has scored three tries in two matches since his own return from injury, picked on the right wing.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Craig Gilroy is named on the left wing in place of Rory Scholes, with Darren Cave lining out at outside centre alongside Luke Marshall who returns to the team having recovered from a head injury.

Paddy Jackson is partnered at half-back by Michael Heaney who starts in place of the injured Ruan Pienaar.

Tom Court, Rob Herring and John Afoa combine in the province’s front row, with captain Johann Muller joined in the second row by Iain Henderson, who was a second half replacement for Ireland against France.

Ferris is joined in the back row by Roger Wilson who moves from blindside flanker to number 8, with Sean Doyle continuing at openside.

Ireland lock Dan Tuohy has recovered from the broken arm that he sustained playing against Wales last month, and will feature on the bench at Murrayfield.

Meanwhile, Hughes Insurance Ulster Academy loosehead prop Andrew Warwick is also named as a replacement. The 23-year-old will make his first appearance for Ulster if called upon.

Joining Tuohy and Warwick on the bench are forwards Niall Annett, Ricky Lutton, Nick Williams and Robbie Diack and backs Paul Marshall and Stuart McCloskey.

The round 17 fixture is not being shown on TV, but live radio coverage will be available via BBC Radio Ulster and the BBC Sport Northern Ireland website.

ULSTER (v Edinburgh): Jared Payne; Tommy Bowe, Darren Cave, Luke Marshall, Craig Gilroy; Paddy Jackson, Michael Heaney; Tom Court, Rob Herring, John Afoa, Johann Muller (capt), Iain Henderson, Stephen Ferris, Sean Doyle, Roger Wilson.

Replacements: Niall Annett, Andrew Warwick, Ricky Lutton, Dan Tuohy, Nick Williams, Robbie Diack, Paul Marshall, Stuart McCloskey.