Jump to main content


Six Changes For Munster’s Swansea Trip

Six Changes For Munster’s Swansea Trip

Donnacha Ryan, Tommy O’Donnell and Felix Jones all return from the Ireland camp to start for Munster against the Ospreys on Sunday (kick-off 4pm).

Dave Kilcoyne has also been released for the RaboDirect PRO12 fixture. He is named on the replacements bench with head coach Rob Penney making six changes to the team that beat Zebre 36-8 last time out.

James Downey comes into the side to make his 40th Munster appearance with Casey Laulala drafted into the starting line-up to form a solid centre pairing.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Andrew Conway starts on the right wing in place of Gerhard van den Heever and Ian Keatley shifts from centre to out-half with Cathal Sheridan retaining his place at scrum half.

Felix Jones starts at full-back with Simon Zebo, who has scored four tries in his last three appearances, on the left wing.

There is an unchanged front row as James Cronin, hooker Duncan Casey and BJ Botha keep their starting places.

Dave Foley comes into the team to partner Donnacha Ryan in the second row with James Coughlan captaining the side from number 8.

Tommy O’Donnell and Sean Dougall – making his first start since injuring his ankle against Connacht in December – complete a dynamic back row.

Meanwhile, Young Munster clubman Ger Slattery will be hoping for a repeat of last weekend’s two-try performance off the bench with Ireland internationals Kilcoyne and Stephen Archer completing the front row cover.

The province’s record appearance holder Donncha O’Callaghan and last weekend’s man-of-the-match CJ Stander are also named on the bench with Duncan Williams, JJ Hanrahan and Denis Hurley providing the cover for the backs.

Munster face the Ospreys at the Liberty Stadium on Sunday afternoon. The game will be televised live on S4C with updates here.

MUNSTER (v Ospreys): Felix Jones; Andrew Conway, Casey Laulala, James Downey, Simon Zebo; Ian Keatley, Cathal Sheridan; James Cronin, Duncan Casey, BJ Botha, Donnacha Ryan, Dave Foley, Tommy O’Donnell, Sean Dougall, James Coughlan (capt).

Replacements: Ger Slattery, Dave Kilcoyne, Stephen Archer, Donncha O’Callaghan, CJ Stander, Duncan Williams, JJ Hanrahan, Denis Hurley.