Jump to main content


Ryan To Start For Munster Against Zebre

Ryan To Start For Munster Against Zebre

Donnacha Ryan has been named in the Munster team for Saturday night’s encounter with Zebre at Musgrave Park (kick-off 6.45pm).

Tommy O’Donnell and Felix Jones return from international duty to start as head coach Rob Penney makes nine changes to the side that beat Cardiff Blues 54-13 last weekend.

Ian Keatley and Johne Murphy form an exciting new centre partnership with Gerhard van den Heever and Simon Zebo keeping their places in the side after both touching down against Cardiff. Zebo moves to the left wing with Jones coming in at full-back.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Cathal Sheridan makes his first start since injuring his knee against Ulster last month and partners the in-form JJ Hanrahan at half-back.

Hooker Duncan Casey is the only player that keeps his place in the front row with James Cronin, who is set to earn his 20th provincial cap, and South African BJ Botha coming into the starting line-up.

Captain Billy Holland, who recently signed a two-year contract extension, joins the fit-again Donnacha Ryan in the second row.

David O’Callaghan comes into the back row for his first start since December, with O’Donnell returning from international duty and CJ Stander moving to number 8 as he maintains his starting berth.

Young Munster hooker Ger Slattery provides the front row cover alongside Ireland international David Kilcoyne and John Ryan.

Donncha O’Callaghan is poised to make a record-breaking appearance off the bench as he looks to gain his 241st cap and become the most-capped Munster player of all-time.

Sean Dougall made his comeback from injury against Cardiff and is also named on a replacements bench that includes Duncan Williams, Denis Hurley and Andrew Conway.

Tickets are available from the ticket offices in Musgrave Park and Thomond Park today until 5pm and from the Ticketmaster van outside the Dolphin Gate on Saturday from 9am.

The Munster v Zebre kicks off at 6.45pm in Cork with tickets available to buy online here. You can find ticket and matchday information here.

MUNSTER (v Zebre): Felix Jones; Gerhard van den Heever, Johne Murphy, Ian Keatley, Simon Zebo; JJ Hanrahan, Cathal Sheridan; James Cronin, Duncan Casey, BJ Botha, Donnacha Ryan, Billy Holland (capt), David O’Callaghan, Tommy O’Donnell, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Ger Slattery, David Kilcoyne, John Ryan, Donncha O’Callaghan, Sean Dougall, Duncan Williams, Denis Hurley, Andrew Conway.