Jump to main content


Leinster Make Seven Changes For Dragons Duel

Leinster Make Seven Changes For Dragons Duel

The Leinster team to face the Newport Gwent Dragons in Friday evening’s RaboDirect PRO12 encounter at the RDS (kick-off 7.45pm) has been named.

Following on from last Sunday’s bonus point victory away to Zebre, head coach Matt O’Connor has mixed things up with a number of additional players now at his disposal having been cleared to play by the Ireland set-up.

Fergus McFadden, Martin Moore, Sean Cronin and Jack McGrath who all saw game-time against Wales start for the province, while Rhys Ruddock, who was part of the extended matchday squad that day, also comes into the fold.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Leinster, who defeated the Dragons 23-19 at Rodney Parade back in November, make seven changes in total to the side that faced the Italians in Parma.

Zane Kirchner, who scored his second try in Leinster colours last weekend, continues at full-back.

Darragh Fanning switches to the left wing to accommodate McFadden, who has now fully recovered from his hand injury and acquitted himself well against Scotland and Wales.

Brendan Macken and Noel Reid are retained in the centre but there is a new pairing at half-back with Eoin Reddan and Ian Madigan taking over from John Cooney and Jimmy Gopperth. Gopperth is named among the replacements.

Captain Leo Cullen and Mike McCarthy are once again selected in the second row but there is a completely new front row with the aforementioned McGrath, Cronin and Moore selected to start having finished out the game so strongly against the Welsh.

In the back row there is one change with Ruddock returning in a straight swap with Kevin McLaughlin. Shane Jennings is again selected at openside flanker with Jordi Murphy continuing at the back of the scrum.

LEINSTER (v Newport Gwent Dragons): Zane Kirchner; Fergus McFadden, Brendan Macken, Noel Reid, Darragh Fanning; Ian Madigan, Eoin Reddan; Jack McGrath, Sean Cronin, Martin Moore, Leo Cullen (capt), Mike McCarthy, Rhys Ruddock, Shane Jennings, Jordi Murphy.

Replacements: Aaron Dundon, Michael Bent, Tadhg Furlong, Tom Denton, Dominic Ryan, Isaac Boss, Jimmy Gopperth, Darren Hudson.