Jump to main content


Full-Back O’Mahony To Captain Munster ‘A’

Full-Back O’Mahony To Captain Munster ‘A’

Ronan O’Mahony will captain Munster ‘A’ for the first time when they travel to Galway to play Connacht Eagles on Friday (kick-off 2.30pm).

The ‘A’ interprovincial game takes place at the Sportground and Munster ‘A’ head coach Peter Malone has named a side that includes a mixture of senior, Academy, sub-Academy and club players.

In-form full-back Ronan O’Mahony takes over the captaincy from brother Barry, who led the side in the final two British & Irish Cup pool games.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Academy player Darren Sweetnam starts on the right wing with Luke O’Dea returning on the opposite flank for his first Munster ‘A’ appearance since injuring his hand against Plymouth in December.

Cian Bohane, who has featured in all six of the British & Irish Cup pool matches this season, and Academy player Harry McNulty will start together in the centre.

McNulty makes his first Munster ‘A’ appearance since starting against the Eagles in the first game of the season.

It is an all-Academy half-back pairing as Johnny Holland retains his place at out-half after recovering from bruised ribs with Brian Haugh at scrum half.

Academy prop Niall Horan starts in the front row alongside UL Bohemians hooker Kevin O’Byrne and Alan Cotter, who made his full Munster debut against Connacht in the PRO12 in December.

Ian Nagle is the most experienced player in the squad and he joins Academy lock Darren O’Shea in the second row.

Shannon’s Lee Nicholas of the sub-Academy starts his first game for Munster ‘A’ in the back-row along with Academy players Ryan Murphy and Shane Buckley.

Murphy started his first British & Irish Cup match of the season away to Plymouth in December with Buckley having featured in all seven of the Munster ‘A’ team’s fixtures so far this season.

There are three Academy players on an extended nine-man replacements bench – out-half Rory Scannell, utility back David Johnston and winger Alex Wootton.

UCC hooker Ben Burns, Mike Lynch of the sub-Academy, UL Bohemians and St. Senan’s, and Conor Glynn of Shannon provide the front-row cover.

Cork Constitution back rower Luke Cahill is also named on the bench along with Shannon and sub-Academy player Aidan Butler, brother of Paddy. UCD and sub-Academy back Jamie Glynn is also included.

MUNSTER ‘A’ (v Connacht Eagles): Ronan O’Mahony (capt); Darren Sweetnam, Harry McNulty, Cian Bohane, Luke O’Dea; Johnny Holland, Brian Haugh; Niall Horan, Kevin O’Byrne, Alan Cotter, Ian Nagle, Darren O’Shea, Lee Nicholas, Ryan Murphy, Shane Buckley.

Replacements: Ben Burns, Mike Lynch, Conor Glynn, Luke Cahill, Aidan Butler, Jamie Glynn, Rory Scannell, David Johnston, Alex Wootton.