Jump to main content


Archer Is Munster’s Only Change

Archer Is Munster’s Only Change

Head coach Rob Penney has named his Munster team to face Edinburgh on Sunday in round 6 of the Heineken Cup, with only one change to the side that defeated Gloucester 20-7 at Kingsholm.

This week there is a switch at tighthead prop with Stephen Archer starting next to Damien Varley and David Kilcoyne in the front row, with BJ Botha moving to the replacements.

Paddy Butler, named on the bench, is also included in a Heineken Cup squad for the first time since injuring his thumb against the same opposition in October.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Butler most recently made his return to action, starting against Connacht in the league and last week played the full 80 minutes for the Munster ‘A’ side against Nottingham in the British & Irish Cup.

Speaking about Sunday’s clash with the Scots and the drive to secure a home quarter-final, Munster captain Peter O’Mahony said: “Look, we’re a professional rugby team and know what has to be done, we’ve enough guys in the squad who have been there before and who know the scenario.

“We know we have to do a job, we can’t influence anything else other than the 80 minutes we have on Sunday so we’ve got to get ourselves right for it. It is tough at times but you’ve got to put it to bed and worry about your own house.

“Obviously, there’s a couple of games after us (in the qualification scenario). We will also know roughly what we have to do but we’re not going to be worried about it.

“To be fair, we’ve never been a side that looks past what’s in front of us and Edinburgh is what we’re worried about.”

The remaining north terrace tickets (adult €;30, junior €;10) are on sale for the Munster v Edinburgh game and are available to buy online here and from the ticket offices in Musgrave Park and Thomond Park.

MUNSTER (v Edinburgh): Felix Jones; Keith Earls, Casey Laulala, James Downey, Johne Murphy; Ian Keatley, Conor Murray; David Kilcoyne, Damien Varley, Stephen Archer, David Foley, Paul O’Connell, Peter O’Mahony (capt), Tommy O’Donnell, James Coughlan.

Replacements: Duncan Casey, James Cronin, BJ Botha, Donncha O’Callaghan, Paddy Butler, Duncan Williams, JJ Hanrahan, Simon Zebo.