Jump to main content


Ulster Team Named For Dublin Trip

Ulster Team Named For Dublin Trip

Ulster head coach Mark Anscombe has made nine personnel changes and three positional switches to the team for Saturday evening’s interprovincial match against Leinster at the RDS (kick-off 6.45pm).

Six of the seven starting backs are Ireland internationals, with Paul Marshall partnering Paddy Jackson at half-back, Luke Marshall and Darren Cave starting in midfield and Andrew Trimble and Craig Gilroy selected on the wings.

Ricky Andrew, who played against Zebre in the last round at Ravenhill, keeps his place at full-back.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Callum Black makes his 50th appearance for the province and starts at loosehead prop, with Rob Herring coming in at hooker and Declan Fitzpatrick selected at tighthead.

Lewis Stevenson wears the number 4 jersey and will have the returning Dan Tuohy alongside him in the second row.

Robbie Diack is named as captain for the game and moves to blindside flanker. Sean Doyle continues at openside flanker and Roger Wilson, who has recovered from injury, comes back in at number 8.

Tom Court, Ruan Pienaar and Jared Payne are named as replacements alongside Niall Annett, Ricky Lutton, Neil McComb, Mike McComish and Michael Allen.

ULSTER (v Leinster): Ricky Andrew; Andrew Trimble, Darren Cave, Luke Marshall, Craig Gilroy; Paddy Jackson, Paul Marshall; Callum Black, Rob Herring, Declan Fitzpatrick, Lewis Stevenson, Dan Tuohy, Robbie Diack (capt), Sean Doyle, Roger Wilson.

Replacements: Niall Annett, Tom Court, Ricky Lutton, Neil McComb, Mike McComish, Ruan Pienaar, Jared Payne, Michael Allen.