Jump to main content


Leinster Team Named For Edinburgh Encounter

Leinster Team Named For Edinburgh Encounter

The Leinster team to face Edinburgh in Friday evening’s RaboDirect PRO12 match at Murrayfield (kick-off 7.35pm) has been named.

Head coach Matt O’Connor has made a number of changes to the starting line-up from last weekend’s Heineken Cup defeat to Northampton Saints.

Isaac Boss is included for the first time in several weeks having recovered from a hamstring injury and he partners Ian Madigan at the half-back.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Luke Fitzgerald and Brian O’Driscoll are also retained from last week’s starting back-line, with Zane Kirchner promoted from the replacements bench.

Noel Reid and Darragh Fanning also come into the side, Fanning after playing for the Leinster ‘A’ team in their fine win over Cross Keys last weekend.

There is a completely new pack selected for the trip to Scotland, with Leo Cullen captaining the side from the second row.

Shane Jennings, who was a late replacement for Sean O’Brien in the Northampton fixture, has retained his place and he is joined in the back row by Kevin McLaughlin and number 8 Jordi Murphy.

LEINSTER (v Edinburgh): Zane Kirchner; Darragh Fanning, Brian O’Driscoll, Noel Reid, Luke Fitzgerald; Ian Madigan, Isaac Boss; Michael Bent, Aaron Dundon, Martin Moore, Leo Cullen (capt), Tom Denton, Kevin McLaughlin, Shane Jennings, Jordi Murphy.

Replacements: James Tracy, Jack O’Connell, Tadhg Furlong, Quinn Roux, Dominic Ryan, John Cooney, Jimmy Gopperth, Brendan Macken.