Jump to main content


Teams Named For Women’s Interpro Decider

Teams Named For Women’s Interpro Decider

The Leinster and Munster Women’s teams for the 2013 IRFU Women’s Interprovincial Championship decider at Thomond Park on Saturday (kick-off 1pm) have been announced.

Leinster come into this fixture off the back of two impressive wins over Ulster (41-7) and Connacht (36-0), while Munster have also recorded victories over Connacht (37-17) and Ulster (15-7).

Munster won the corresponding fixture last year 15-12 in Ashbourne to claim the Interpro crown, but Leinster appear to be the team to beat this season.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The Leinster side contains six players – Nora Stapleton, Fiona Coghlan, Ailis Egan, Sophie Spence, Jenny Murphy and Marie Louise Reilly – who starred for Ireland in the Grand Slam run last season.

Meanwhile, defending champions Munster can call on the services of Ireland aces Gillian Bourke, Fiona Hayes, Heather O’Brien and Siobhan Fleming this Saturday – although the injured Niamh Briggs is a notable absentee.

The game kicks off at 1pm at Thomond Park on Saturday afternoon.

MUNSTER WOMEN: Claire Keohane (UL Bohemians); Aimee Leigh Murphy Crowe (Clanwilliam), Laura O’Mahony (Tralee), Nicola Scully (Highfield), Aoife Doyle (Shannon); Mollie O’Donnell (UL Bohemians), Mona Fehily (Highfield); Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemians), Gillian Bourke (UL Bohemians), Niamh English (Highfield), Heather O’Brien (Highfield) (capt), Orlaith Buckley (Highfield), Ciara Griffin (Tralee), Siobhan Fleming (Tralee), Laura Guest (Highfield).

Replacements: Leah Lyons (Fermoy), Kate Sheehan (UL Bohemians), Leah Barbour (UL Bohemians), Maeve Darcy (UL Bohemians), Genevieve Rowland (Nenagh Ormond), Ger Rea (Highfield), Fiona O’Sullivan (Highfield), Amy O’Callaghan (Highfield).

LEINSTER WOMEN: Vicki McGinn (Blackrock); Aine Ni Chathain (Blackrock), Michelle Claffey (Blackrock), Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere), Janice Daly Morrissey (Old Belvedere); Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere), Tania Rosser (Blackrock); Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemians), Fionnuala Gleeson (Old Belvedere), Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere), Orla Fitzsimons (St. Mary’s College), Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere) (capt), Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere), Paula Fitzpatrick (St. Mary’s College), Sharon Lynch (Old Belvedere).

Replacements: Ailish Toner (Old Belvedere), Ann-Marie Rooney (St. Mary’s College), Ruth McElroy (Old Belvedere), Alana Lowe (Blackrock), Carmela Morey (Cill Dara), Sarah-Jane Cody (UL Bohemians), Shannon Houston (Blackrock), Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock).