Jump to main content


Leinster Stick With Winning Formula

Leinster Stick With Winning Formula

The Leinster team to face Northampton Saints in Saturday evening’s Heineken Cup round 4 encounter at the Aviva Stadium (kick-off 6pm) has been named.

Head coach Matt O’Connor has selected an unchanged line-up from the one that started last weekend’s victory in Franklin’s Gardens. Jamie Heaslip leads an all-Ireland team for the return visit of Northampton.

Mike McCarthy continues his second row partnership with Devin Toner and the Moynalvey man is set to make his 31st Heineken Cup appearance.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The second half try scored by Brian O’Driscoll, who picked up the man-of-the-match award in round 3, took him to 33 tries on the all-time Heineken Cup top try scorers list and is now just two behind Toulouse’s Vincent Clerc.

O’Driscoll continues his centre partnership with Gordon D’Arcy, with Luke Fitzgerald – whose hat-trick of tries last weekend pushed him to the top of this year’s tournament tally – continuing in the back-three alongside Dundalk duo Dave and Rob Kearney.

Eoin Reddan partners Ian Madigan, who makes his 90th Leinster appearance, at half back. Leo Cullen, Shane Jennings and Zane Kirchner are named on an experienced looking bench.

Tickets sales for Saturday’s game have now passed the 45,000 mark – tickets are on sale online here and from the Leinster Rugby Store (Donnybrook), Spar (Donnybrook), Active Sports (Blackrock) as well as Ticketmaster outlets nationwide.

LEINSTER (v Northampton Saints): Rob Kearney; David Kearney, Brian O’Driscoll, Gordon D’Arcy, Luke Fitzgerald; Ian Madigan, Eoin Reddan; Jack McGrath, Sean Cronin, Mike Ross, Devin Toner, Mike McCarthy, Rhys Ruddock, Sean O’Brien, Jamie Heaslip (capt).

Replacements: Aaron Dundon, Michael Bent, Martin Moore, Leo Cullen, Shane Jennings, John Cooney, Jimmy Gopperth, Zane Kirchner.