Jump to main content


Six Changes For Munster

Six Changes For Munster

Munster head coach Rob Penney has named a strong team for the crunch Heineken Cup round 3 match against Perpignan at Thomond Park on Sunday (kick-off 12.45pm).

Team captain Peter O’Mahony and Conor Murray are both included in the starting line-up for the first time since October, having featured for Ireland during the recent GUINNESS Series.

Rob Penney has made six changes to the side that extended Munster’s winning run to five games last weekend against the Newport Gwent Dragons at Rodney Parade.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

There are three changes in the backs with Murray coming in to partner Ian Keatley – the man-of-the-match in Newport – at half-back.

Casey Laulala returns to the side and lines up alongside James Downey in the centre positions.

Laulala’s inclusion means that Keith Earls moves out to the right wing with Johne Murphy selected on the left wing and Felix Jones keeping his place at full-back.

Damien Varley is the only change in the front row as the hooker replaces the injured Mike Sherry with Ireland internationals David Kilcoyne and Stephen Archer keeping their starting places.

The second row of Donncha O’Callaghan and Paul O’Connell remains the same, but there are two changes in the back row with skipper O’Mahony and Sean Dougall coming into the team.

James Coughlan starts at number 8 after recovering from the eye injury he sustained during the victory over the Dragons.

Billy Holland is named on the bench for the first time in this season’s Heineken Cup alongside Shannon hooker Duncan Casey who could make his competitive debut for the province.

Munster currently lie second in Pool 6 of the Heineken Cup, a point behind Perpignan.

Category A and B tickets are now sold out for Sunday afternoon’s game with only terrace tickets remaining.

There are still north terrace family packs available for just €;40 for one adult and one junior (under-16). Terrace tickets can be purchased online here and on matchday.

MUNSTER (v Perpignan): Felix Jones; Keith Earls, Casey Laulala, James Downey, Johne Murphy; Ian Keatley, Conor Murray; David Kilcoyne, Damien Varley, Stephen Archer, Donncha O’Callaghan, Paul O’Connell, Peter O’Mahony (capt), Sean Dougall, James Coughlan.

Replacements: Duncan Casey, James Cronin, BJ Botha, Billy Holland, CJ Stander, Cathal Sheridan, JJ Hanrahan, Denis Hurley.