Jump to main content


O’Donnell To Make Injury Comeback In Munster ‘A’ Game

O’Donnell To Make Injury Comeback In Munster ‘A’ Game

Tommy O’Donnell will start from the bench for Munster ‘A’ when they face Plymouth Albion in round 3 of the British & Irish Cup at Brickfields on Friday (kick-off 7.45pm).

Tommy O’Donnell has been out of action since September when he injured his knee against Zebre. He was not expected to return to training until Friday but came through yesterday’s session with no problems and has been included in the Munster ‘A’ squad.

Head coach Peter Malone has made four changes to the team that defeated Nottingham at Meadow Lane in October.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Fit-again duo Luke O’Dea and Ian Nagle have been drafted into the side with team captain Niall Scannell replacing Duncan Casey at hooker and Ryan Murphy coming in for Barry O’Mahony in the back row.

Malone has decided to retain the half-back partnership of Duncan Williams and Johnny Holland, with the centre pairing of Ivan Dineen and Cian Bohane also remaining unchanged.

Niall Scannell is the only change in the front row with props Alan Cotter and John Ryan keeping their places in the starting line-up.

David Foley is joined in the second row by Nagle with one change in the back row as Murphy comes in alongside David O’Callaghan and number 8 Shane Buckley.

Ronan O’Mahony starts on the left wing with Rory Scannell keeping his place at full-back.

Recent Academy signing Alex Wootton is included among the Munster ‘A’ replacements for the first time, with Niall Kenneally also named in the squad after recovering from a recent shoulder knock he sustained playing for Cork Constitution.

Cork Con hooker Max Abbott is named on the the bench with Dolphin’s former Ireland Under-20 international Brian Scott also included in his first Munster ‘A’ squad.

Barry O’Mahony picked up a slight shoulder knock playing for Garryowen last weekend and is not included in the matchday panel.

The game is the first of a double header against a Plymouth side that currently sit top of Pool 4, level on nine points with Munster ‘A’ but ahead on points difference.

The return fixture will be played at Waterford’s Regional Sports Centre on Friday week (December 13) at 7.30pm. Tickets for that game can be purchased online here.

MUNSTER ‘A’ (v Plymouth Albion): Rory Scannell; Luke O’Dea, Cian Bohane, Ivan Dineen, Ronan O’Mahony; Johnny Holland, Duncan Williams; Alan Cotter, Niall Scannell (capt), John Ryan, David Foley, Ian Nagle; David O’Callaghan, Ryan Murphy, Shane Buckley.

Replacements: Max Abbott, Brian Scott, Darren O’Shea, Tommy O’Donnell, Gerry Hurley, Niall Kenneally, Alex Wootton.