Jump to main content


Gilroy And Henderson To Start For Ulster

Gilroy And Henderson To Start For Ulster

Ireland internationals Craig Gilroy and Iain Henderson have recovered from injury and have been named in Mark Anscombe’s starting line-up for the game against Edinburgh at Ravenhill on Friday (kick-off 7.05pm).

The fit-again Craig Gilroy starts at full-back alongside Andrew Trimble and Michael Allen in the back-three, as the province return to RaboDirect PRO12 action.

Luke Marshall and Darren Cave have both been released by Ireland and start in the centre with James McKinney and Paul Marshall selected at half-back.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Callum Black, Rob Herring and John Afoa are named in an unchanged front row, with Lewis Stevenson and the returning Iain Henderson starting in the second row.

Robbie Diack captains Ulster for the first time and is selected at blindside flanker. Sean Doyle, who was man-of-the-match for the Ravens against Connacht Eagles last Friday, is picked at openside flanker and Nick Williams starts at bumber 8.

Ireland internationals Tom Court, Dan Tuohy and Roger Wilson are named on a strong replacements bench which also includes Niall Annett, Ricky Lutton, Ian Porter, Peter Nelson and Ricky Andrew.

Commenting on this opportunity to captain Ulster for the first time, Diack said: “It was a bit of a shock when Mark (Anscombe) called out the team and I was captain, but it is a tremendous honour.

“I am hugely excited to be leading out such a talented bunch of guys and hopefully we can get the win.”

ULSTER (v Edinburgh): Craig Gilroy; Andrew Trimble, Darren Cave, Luke Marshall, Michael Allen; James McKinney, Paul Marshall; Callum Black, Rob Herring, John Afoa, Lewis Stevenson, Iain Henderson, Robbie Diack (capt), Sean Doyle, Nick Williams.

Replacements: Niall Annett, Tom Court, Ricky Lutton, Dan Tuohy, Roger Wilson, Ian Porter, Peter Nelson, Ricky Andrew.