Jump to main content


Munster Make Eight Changes

Munster Make Eight Changes

Head coach Rob Penney has made eight changes to the Munster team for Saturday night’s RaboDirect PRO12 meeting with the Ospreys at Thomond Park (kick-off 7.15pm).

Munster have been boosted for the top of the table clash by the return of Donncha O’Callaghan and James Coughlan from the Ireland training camp – O’Callaghan will start in the second row with Coughlan listed among the replacements.

Elsewhere in the forwards, Rob Penney has named a completely different front row as David Kilcoyne, Damien Varley and BJ Botha start with David Foley and David O’Callaghan also coming into the side.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Both Foley and O’Callaghan have most recently been invovled in the Munster ‘A’ team’s British & Irish Cup campaign. Varley captains the province for the second time this season.

In the backs, exciting winger Ronan O’Mahony keeps his place for what will be his first competitive game at Thomond Park.

Ian Keatley comes back in at out-half ahead of last weekend’s man-of-the-match JJ Hanrahan who drops back to the replacements.

Duncan Williams starts at scrum half and Felix Jones returns at full-back after a slight ankle sprain which ruled him out of the Glasgow game.

Johne Murphy moves to the right wing in place of Andrew Conway who is suffering from bruised ribs, while the centre partnership of Ivan Dineen and Casey Laulala remains intact.

Corkman Duncan Casey takes his place on the bench and the hooker will be hopeful of making his first league appearance for Munster. James Downey was not considered due to a back spasm.

Tickets are on sale for the Munster v Ospreys game online here, from the Munster Rugby Ticket offices in Musgrave Park and Thomond Park or by calling Ticketmaster on 0818 719300.

The mobile ticket office at Hassett’s Cross will be open until 7pm today, and the ticket office will be open from 9am on matchday.

Family packs are available for €;40 for two adults and two juniors (under 16 years of age).

MUNSTER (v Ospreys): Felix Jones; Johne Murphy, Casey Laulala, Ivan Dineen, Ronan O’Mahony; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Damien Varley (capt), BJ Botha, Donncha O’Callaghan, David Foley, David O’Callaghan, Sean Dougall, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Duncan Casey, James Cronin, John Ryan, Billy Holland, James Coughlan, Cathal Sheridan, JJ Hanrahan, Cian Bohane.