Jump to main content


Leinster ‘A’ Team Named For Moseley Test

Leinster ‘A’ Team Named For Moseley Test

The Leinster ‘A’ team to face Moseley in Saturday’s British & Irish Cup round 2 clash at Billesley Common (kick-off 3pm) has been named.

Fresh from last weekend’s 49-8 opening round victory over Ealing Trailfinders, there are several changes to the starting line-up which will again be led by Conor Gilsenan.

Luke McGrath will partner fellow former St. Michael’s College student Cathal Marsh at half-back. Marsh scored a try in a 19-point haul last weekend and is joined by fellow try scorers Thomas Farrell and Sam Coghlan Murray in the back-line ahead of the trip to Birmingham.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Tom Denton will lock down alongside Tadhg Beirne in the engine room of the pack, with Ben Marshall moving to wing forward in a back row combination which includes Gilsenan and number 8 Leo Auva’a.

Speaking ahead of Saturday’s game, Leinster ‘A’ head coach Girvan Dempsey said that his young squad are determined to build on last weekend’s win.

“I was impressed by the attitude of the players against Ealing, but we’re going to face an altogether different test against Moseley,” said Dempsey.

“They are a skilful side and they like to play at a high tempo. We’re still finding our shape after the cancellation of several friendly games recently, so we’ll need to start positively and look to impose ourselves physically.

“Moseley have a strong tradition in English club rugby and it should be another good test of the players’ character. We will aim to build this weekend and we will have to have our wits about us to get a positive result.”

For live score updates during the game, click here.

LEINSTER ‘A’ (v Moseley): Darren Hudson; Sam Coghlan Murray, Tom Farrell, Tom Daly, Darragh Fanning; Cathal Marsh, Luke McGrath; Jack O’Connell, James Tracy, Tadhg Furlong, Tadhg Beirne, Tom Denton, Ben Marshall, Conor Gilsenan (capt), Leo Auva’a.

Replacements: Bryan Byrne, Martin Kelly, Gavin Thornbury, Dan Leavy, John Cooney, Steve Crosbie, Andrew Boyle.