Jump to main content


Madigan And Boss To Start For Leinster

Madigan And Boss To Start For Leinster

The Leinster team to face Glasgow Warriors in Friday night’s RaboDirect PRO12 clash at Scotstoun Stadium (kick-off 7.35pm) has been named.

Shane Jennings leads the team for the third successive week for the trip to Scotland in a pack which sees Ireland hooker Richardt Strauss, who is set to make his 85th provincial appearance, continue in the front row alongside Jack McGrath and Mike Ross.

Meanwhile, Tom Denton is the only change to the starting forwards and he lines out in the second row alongside Mike McCarthy.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Scrum half Isaac Boss will make his first start of the campaign after coming on as a replacement against the Ospreys to make his 79th Leinster appearance. He will form a new half-back partnership with the PRO12’s joint top scorer Jimmy Gopperth (26 points in two games).

Ian Madigan, who saw action as a first half replacement against the Ospreys, will start at full-back this time with Darragh Fanning and David Kearney named on the wings.

2013 Lions Cian Healy and Rob Kearney are included on a strong replacements bench alongside fellow Ireland internationals Eoin Reddan and Devin Toner.

LEINSTER (v Glasgow Warriors): Ian Madigan; David Kearney, Brendan Macken, Gordon D’Arcy, Darragh Fanning; Jimmy Gopperth, Isaac Boss; Jack McGrath, Richardt Strauss, Mike Ross, Mike McCarthy, Tom Denton, Kevin McLaughlin, Shane Jennings (capt), Jordi Murphy.

Replacements: Aaron Dundon, Cian Healy, Martin Moore, Devin Toner, Dominic Ryan, Eoin Reddan, Noel Reid, Rob Kearney.