Jump to main content


Ulster Boosted By Returning Internationals

Ulster Boosted By Returning Internationals

Ulster head coach Mark Anscombe has named a 27-man squad for the province’s final pre-season match against Leicester Tigers at Welford Road on Saturday (kick-off 3pm).

Jared Payne, who started last weekend’s game against Leinster at outside centre, is named at full-back and is joined in the back-three by Andrew Trimble and David McIlwaine.

Luke Marshall will don the number 13 jersey alongside Chris Farrell with James McKinney keeping his place at out-half where he is partnered by the returning Paul Marshall.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In the forwards, British & Irish Lions prop Tom Court is selected at loosehead prop alongside Rob Herring at hooker and Ricky Lutton on the tighthead side of the front row.

Dan Tuohy and captain Johann Muller make up the second row combination with Robbie Diack, Chris Henry and Roger Wilson picked as the starting back rowers.

Ireland internationals Declan Fitzpatrick and Paddy Jackson are among the 12 replacements listed for the game.

Looking forward to the trip to Leicester, Ulster boss Mark Anscombe said: “This match is the perfect way for us to warm up for the new season.

“It’s good to be able to call upon players like Johann Muller, Andrew Trimble, Paul Marshall, Chris Henry and Tom Court for their first hit-out of the campaign.

“We will try a few things and look at combinations ahead of our game in the RaboDirect PRO12 against the Newport Gwent Dragons next Friday.”

ULSTER (v Leicester Tigers): Jared Payne; Andrew Trimble, Luke Marshall, Chris Farrell, David McIlwaine; James McKinney, Paul Marshall; Tom Court, Rob Herring, Ricky Lutton, Johann Muller (capt), Dan Tuohy, Robbie Diack, Chris Henry, Roger Wilson.

Replacements: Callum Black, Niall Annett, Declan Fitzpatrick, Alan O’Connor, Conor Joyce, Lewis Stevenson, Mike McComish, Sean Doyle, Ian Porter, Paddy Jackson, Michael Allen, Ricky Andrew.