Jump to main content


Murphy To Captain Leinster ‘A’

Murphy To Captain Leinster ‘A’

The Leinster ‘A’ team to face Newcastle Falcons in Friday night’s British & Irish Cup final at Kingston Park (kick-off 7.30pm) has been named.

Back rower Jordi Murphy, who has been making great strides at senior level, leads a young team ahead of the trip to the north east of England for the province’s first final in this competition.

Luke McGrath continues his half-back pairing with former school-mate Cathal Marsh, with Noel Reid linking up at centre with Brendan Macken, who has returned to full contact training after a recent hand injury.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Up front, Ireland international Michael Bent is named in the front row alongside hooker Aaron Dundon and Academy prop Jack O’Connell, with Tadhg Beirne locking down alongside Mark Flanagan in the second row.

Skipper Murphy forms an exciting back row unit with Conor Gilsenan and Dominic Ryan.

Leinster ‘A’ have lost just once in this year’s competition and claimed away victories in each of their last two knock-out matches – 30-26 away to Bristol and 17-15 away to Munster ‘A’, last year’s champions.

LEINSTER ‘A’ (v Newcastle Falcons): Fionn Carr; Sam Coghlan Murray, Brendan Macken, Noel Reid, Andrew Boyle; Cathal Marsh, Luke McGrath; Jack O’Connell, Aaron Dundon, Michael Bent, Tadhg Beirne, Mark Flanagan, Dominic Ryan, Conor Gilsenan, Jordi Murphy (capt).

Replacements: James Tracy, Martin Moore, Leo Auva’a, Daniel Leavy, Adam Griggs, Jordan Coghlan, Adam Byrne.