Jump to main content


Connacht Make Three Changes

Connacht Make Three Changes

Head coach Eric Elwood has announced the Connacht team to face Zebre in round 17 of the RaboDirect PRO12 on Friday night.

Connacht welcome the Italian side to the Sportsground (kick-off 7.45pm) and there are three personnel changes to the team that beat the Cardiff Blues last weekend.

Robbie Henshaw, who was on international duty last week, is named at full-back for his 21st senior appearance for the province.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The 27-year-old Brian Murphy, who made his Connacht debut in Cardiff, will start again at inside centre in a midfield partnership with fellow Galway native Eoin Griffin.

Skipper Gavin Duffy is named on the left wing, replacing Fetu’u Vainikolo who drops to the replacements bench.

Dan Parks was a late withdrawal for the Cardiff game with a hamstring injury. He will return to out-half duties, taking over from the benched Miah Nikora.

Meanwhile, there is just one change up front with Michael Kearney replacing Michael Swift in the second row.

Swift sustained a knee injury during training earlier in the week. Connacht’s most-capped player is waiting on scan results to determine the severity of the injury.

A recent returnee from injury, George Naoupu, is listed on the bench along with front rowers Adrian Flavin, Ronan Loughney and Denis Buckley.

CONNACHT (v Zebre): Robbie Henshaw; Danie Poolman, Eoin Griffin, Brian Murphy, Gavin Duffy (capt); Dan Parks, Kieran Marmion; Brett Wilkinson, Jason Harris-Wright, Nathan White, Michael Kearney, Andrew Browne, John Muldoon, Willie Faloon, Eoin McKeon.

Replacements: Adrian Flavin, Denis Buckley, Ronan Loughney, Thomas Anderson, George Naoupu, Paul O’Donohoe, Miah Nikora, Fetu’u Vainikolo.