Jump to main content


Coughlan To Lead Youthful Munster Line-Up

Coughlan To Lead Youthful Munster Line-Up

Munster head coach Rob Penney has selected a youthful team for the province’s return to RaboDirect PRO12 action against Edinburgh at Musgrave Park on Saturday (kick-off 7.45pm).

Only three players who featured in Munster’s last RaboDirect PRO12 game – against the Cardiff Blues in early January – will start this time around in Cork.

Nine players who started that night are either injured or involved with the Ireland squad, while three more – forwards Mike Sherry, David Foley and Tommy O’Donnell – are named on the province’s bench.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

There are first starts of the season for Danny Barnes and Ivan Dineen in the back-line, while centre JJ Hanrahan, winger Johne Murphy and lock Ian Nagle all get their second starts of the campaign.

CJ Stander returns to the Munster team for the first time since breaking a bone in his hand in the match against Glasgow Warriors back on December 1.

The South African has featured in recent British & Irish Cup games and came on as a replacement in January against the Blues. He is picked at blindside flanker in a back row completed by Sean Dougall and stand-in captain James Coughlan.

MUNSTER (v Edinburgh): Denis Hurley; Johne Murphy, Ivan Dineen, JJ Hanrahan, Danny Barnes; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; Marcus Horan, Damien Varley, BJ Botha, Ian Nagle, Billy Holland, CJ Stander, Sean Dougall, James Coughlan (capt).

Replacements: Mike Sherry, Wian du Preez, John Ryan, David Foley, Tommy O’Donnell, Paddy Butler, Cathal Sheridan, Scott Deasy.