Jump to main content


Leinster Team Named For Cardiff Match

Leinster Team Named For Cardiff Match

The Leinster team to face the Cardiff Blues in Friday night’s RaboDirect PRO12 clash at Cardiff Arms Park (kick-off 7.30pm) has been named.

Leo Cullen leads a team which shows a blend of youth and experience for the trip to the Welsh capital.

Ian Madigan, who is the RaboDirect PRO12’s third top points scorer (91 points) this season, partners Ireland international Isaac Boss at half-back with Andrew Goodman lining up at centre alongside Brendan Macken.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Out wide Andrew Conway is joined in the back-three by Darren Hudson, who makes his eighth senior appearance, and David Kearney who starts at full-back.

Dominic Ryan makes just his third appearance after an injury-interrupted season thus far and he completes an exciting back row alongside Shane Jennings and Jordi Murphy.

Leinster ‘A’ captain Jack McGrath is rewarded with a start in the front row after some impressive form in the British & Irish Cup.

Heinke van der Merwe is part of a replacements bench which includes seven players who are either in, or have come through, the Leinster Academy.

LEINSTER (v Cardiff Blues): David Kearney; Andrew Conway, Brendan Macken, Andrew Goodman, Darren Hudson; Ian Madigan, Isaac Boss; Jack McGrath, Aaron Dundon, Michael Bent, Leo Cullen (capt), Tom Denton, Dominic Ryan, Shane Jennings, Jordi Murphy.

Replacements: Tom Sexton, Heinke van der Merwe, Jamie Hagan, Ben Marshall, Rhys Ruddock, John Cooney, Noel Reid, Fionn Carr.