Jump to main content


Ulster Make Five Changes

Ulster Make Five Changes

Ulster head coach Mark Anscombe has made five changes in personnel for Friday night’s Heineken Cup Pool 4 match against Glasgow Warriors at Ravenhill (kick-off 8pm).

Jared Payne returns from injury and is named at full-back, while Paddy Wallace replaces the injured Luke Marshall and is selected in the centre alongside Darren Cave.

Andrew Trimble, who will make his 150th appearance for Ulster in Friday’s game, starts on the right wing with fellow Ireland international Craig Gilroy lining out on the left. Paddy Jackson and Ruan Pienaar continue their half-back partnership.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

There are two changes in the front row with Rory Best starting the game at hooker and New Zealander John Afoa named at tighthead prop.

Dan Tuohy has failed to recover from the calf strain that he sustained against the Scarlets and is replaced in the second row by Iain Henderson.

Robbie Diack, stand-in captain Chris Henry and the province’s man-of-the-match from last weekend, Nick Williams, all start in an unchanged back-row.

Declan Fitzpatrick is named on the replacements bench and is in line to make his first appearance since November having recovered from a head injury.

The game will see Pool 4 leaders Ulster taking on a Glasgow team who are bottom of the table and without a win in the competition this season.

However, the Scottish side were unfortunate not to beat Castres Olympique when a last minute penalty struck a post.

Trimble will become only the fourth player in history to make 150 appearances for Ulster, behind Paddy Wallace (185) Justin Fitzpatrick (155) and Bryn Cunningham (150).

Commenting on the milestone, Trimble said: “I never thought when I was starting out that I would ever make 150 appearances. When I was younger I supported Ulster and always wanted to play for the province, so to reach 150 is really special.”

ULSTER (v Glasgow Warriors): Jared Payne; Andrew Trimble, Darren Cave, Paddy Wallace, Craig Gilroy; Paddy Jackson, Ruan Pienaar; Tom Court, Rory Best, John Afoa, Lewis Stevenson, Iain Henderson, Robbie Diack, Chris Henry, Nick Williams.

Replacements: Rob Herring, Callum Black, Declan Fitzpatrick, Neil McComb, Roger Wilson, Paul Marshall, Michael Allen, Chris Cochrane.