Jump to main content


Connacht Call On Naoupu And White

Connacht Call On Naoupu And White

Connacht return to RaboDirect PRO12 action when they welcome provincial rivals Munster to the Sportsground on Saturday evening (kick-off 5.15pm).

Head coach Eric Elwood has made two changes to the starting line-up as Connacht, who have won two of their last three interprovincial encounters, pursue a clean sweep of 2012 home victories over their fellow provinces.

The westerners’ back-line remains unchanged while up front Ronan Loughney makes way for Nathan White who captains the side at tighthead prop.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Versatile forward George Naoupu will start in the second row alongside Mike McCarthy.

Veteran lock Michael Swift and the 22-year-old centre Eoin Griffin have both returned from injury and are named on the bench for the derby clash.

Eoghan Grace, who has captained Connacht Eagles this season and scored a try in last weekend’s British & Irish Cup victory over Cross Keys, is also part of the matchday squad.

CONNACHT (v Munster): Robbie Henshaw; Tiernan O’Halloran, Danie Poolman, David McSharry, Fetu’u Vainikolo; Dan Parks, Kieran Marmion; Brett Wilkinson, Jason Harris-Wright, Nathan White (capt), George Naoupu, Mike McCarthy, Andrew Browne, Johnny O’Connor, Eoin McKeon.

Replacements: Ethienne Reynecke, Denis Buckley, Ronan Loughney, Michael Swift, Eoghan Grace, Paul O’Donohoe, Matthew Jarvis, Eoin Griffin.