Jump to main content


Trimble And Marshall Back On Provincial Duty

Trimble And Marshall Back On Provincial Duty

Ireland squad members Andrew Trimble and Paul Marshall have been included in the Ulster starting line-up to play Benetton Treviso at the Stadio di Monigo on Friday (kick-off 7.05pm local time/6.05pm Irish time).

Number 8 Roger Wilson has been named as captain for the RaboDirect PRO12 encounter, with the 20-year-old Peter Nelson earning just his second start at full-back.

In total there are six personnel changes and one positional switch compared to the side that started against Zebre last Sunday.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Up front sees an all new front row of Tom Court, Rob Herring and Declan Fitzpatrick deployed in place of Callum Black, Nigel Brady and John Afoa respectively.

The second row pairing of Robbie Diack and Neil McComb will continue after impressing in the 27-25 win over Zebre.

The back row is also unchanged with Nick Williams and Mike McComish named on either side of the scrum and Wilson at the base.

Paul Marshall’s inclusion alongside Niall O’Connor at half-back means Michael Heaney must be content with a place on the bench.

Outside of them, Paddy Wallace and Jared Payne, playing in midfield for the third consecutive match, will be tasked with providing much of the creativity.

With returning Ireland international Andrew Trimble named on the right wing, Michael Allen has switched to the left touchline at the expense of Chris Cochrane.

That leaves Academy player Nelson, who has made three previous Ulster senior appearances, lining out at full-back in place of Ricky Andrew.

Last weekend’s starting front row are all on the bench this time out, with James Simpson and Ali Birch also providing forward cover. Heaney, Cochrane and Ireland Under-20 inside back Stuart Olding are the other replacements included.

ULSTER (v Benetton Treviso): Peter Nelson; Andrew Trimble, Jared Payne, Paddy Wallace, Michael Allen; Niall O’Connor, Paul Marshall; Tom Court, Rob Herring, Declan Fitzpatrick, Robbie Diack, Neil McComb, Nick Williams, Mike McComish, Roger Wilson (capt).

Replacements: Nigel Brady, Callum Black, John Afoa, James Simpson, Ali Birch, Michael Heaney, Stuart Olding, Chris Cochrane.