Jump to main content


Leinster Make Five Changes For Cardiff Clash

Leinster Make Five Changes For Cardiff Clash

David Kearney will make his seasonal debut for Leinster when they entertain the Cardiff Blues in the RaboDirect PRO12 at the RDS on Saturday (kick-off 6.30pm).

Jonathan Sexton, making his 98th appearance this weekend, is just five points away from passing the 500-point mark in league games. He partners fellow Ireland international Eoin Reddan at half-back.

Gordon D’Arcy links up again with Brian O’Driscoll in the province’s midfield, while David Kearney will start his first game of the season after being named on the right wing.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Up front, Devin Toner locks down in the second row alongside captain Leo Cullen and the 21-year-old Jordi Murphy takes over from Shane Jennings at openside flanker, making just his second start at this level.

Hooker Richardt Strauss, who was named in an Ireland squad for the first time this week, returns in the front row alongside international props Cian Healy and Mike Ross.

Fit-again back rower Rhys Ruddock, meanwhile, takes his place in a Leinster senior squad for the first time this season. He is listed as a replacement alongside the likes of Isaac Boss and Sean Cronin.

There will be lots of Halloween activity around the ground on Saturday including a Haunted House, fancy dress competition and a special fireworks display.

Come down in your best Halloween costume to support the team and be in with a chance to win some great prizes on the night. Gates open at 5pm.

Ticket sales for Saturday’s game are approaching the 17,000 mark and tickets are still on sale online here. They are also available to buy from the Leinster Rugby Store (Donnybrook) and Spar (Donnybrook) as well as Ticketmaster outlets nationwide.

LEINSTER (v Cardiff Blues): Ian Madigan; David Kearney, Brian O’Driscoll, Gordon D’Arcy, Fergus McFadden; Jonathan Sexton, Eoin Reddan; Cian Healy, Richardt Strauss, Mike Ross, Leo Cullen (capt), Devin Toner, Kevin McLaughlin, Jordi Murphy, Jamie Heaslip.

Replacements: Sean Cronin, Heinke van der Merwe, Jamie Hagan, Damian Browne, Rhys Ruddock, Isaac Boss, Brendan Macken, Fionn Carr.