Jump to main content


Leinster Name Team For Edinburgh Encounter

Leinster Name Team For Edinburgh Encounter

The Leinster team to face Edinburgh in Saturday evening’s RaboDirect PRO12 match at the RDS (kick-off 6.15pm) has been named.

Leo Cullen skippers a Leinster line-up which shows several changes to the side that beat Benetton Treviso away last weekend.

Up front, Sean Cronin comes into the front row in place of Richardt Strauss. He will line up alongside international colleagues Cian Healy – making his 98th Leinster appearance – and Mike Ross.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Cullen partners Tom Denton, who will make his home debut for the province in the second row, with Jamie Heaslip, Shane Jennings and Kevin McLaughlin continuing in the back row.

Gordon D’Arcy returns to make his first start of the season, lining up in thee centre alongside Brian O’Driscoll who scored his 55th career try for the province against Treviso.

O’Driscoll now lies one ahead of D’Arcy in third place on Leinster’s all-time top try scorers’ list, and four behind Denis Hickie’s tally of 59 tries. Shane Horgan leads the way with 71 tries.

Isa Nacewa returns to the starting line-up, combining again in the back-three with wingers Fionn Carr and Andrew Conway.

Jonathan Sexton’s 14-point haul in Italy pushed him through the 800-point mark for Leinster (808 points). The out-half will make his 94th provincial appearance on Saturday, partnering Eoin Reddan at half-back.

Saturday’s game marks the province’s annual ‘Kids Takeover’ where younger supporters get the chance to be involved in the running of matchday.

Amongst lots of other events there will be 15 mascots leading the team out, a lucky supporter reading out the teams, the chance to make the presentation of the match ball and much more around the province.

Ticket sales have passed the 16,400 mark and are still on sale online here. They are also available from the Leinster Rugby Store (Donnybrook) and Spar (Donnybrook) as well as Ticketmaster outlets nationwide.

LEINSTER (v Edinburgh): Isa Nacewa; Andrew Conway, Brian O’Driscoll, Gordon D’Arcy, Fionn Carr; Jonathan Sexton, Eoin Reddan; Cian Healy, Sean Cronin, Mike Ross, Leo Cullen (capt), Tom Denton, Kevin McLaughlin, Shane Jennings, Jamie Heaslip.

Replacements: Tom Sexton, Heinke van der Merwe, Jamie Hagan, Devin Toner, Jordi Murphy, John Cooney, Ian Madigan, Brendan Macken.