Jump to main content


Keatley To Start For Munster

Keatley To Start For Munster

Munster head coach Tony McGahan has named a starting line-up along expected lines for Friday’s RaboDirect PRO12 semi-final clash with the Ospreys in Swansea (kick-off 7.35pm).

Donncha O’Callaghan, a replacement against Ulster, comes into the side for the injured Paul O’Connell (knee) in an otherwise unchanged pack.

In the backs, Ian Keatley, a late withdrawal last weekend, replaces Scott Deasy at out-half and it is no surprise that a fit-again Keith Earls returns at outside centre with Ivan Dineen reverting to the replacements bench.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Ronan O’Gara, who has been out of action with a leg injury recently, has been named among the replacements after coming through training yesterday unscathed.

Meanwhile, promising prop Dave Kilcoyne has been preferred to Marcus Horan for the number 17 jersey.

Previewing Friday’s encounter, winger Johne Murphy said: “Sure, it will be tough. Shane Williams is moving on. He’s retiring so it’s his last game at the Liberty (Stadium).

“There are guys like that for whom it’s going to be huge. But it’s the same for us, for guys like Micko (Mick O’Driscoll), Tony (McGahan), Tomas (O’Leary) and Mafs (Lifeimi Mafi).

“We want to send these guys off on a fantastic note by retaining the league title.”

MUNSTER (v Ospreys): Felix Jones; Johne Murphy, Keith Earls, Lifeimi Mafi, Simon Zebo; Ian Keatley, Conor Murray; Wian du Preez, Mike Sherry, BJ Botha, Donncha O’Callaghan, Mick O’Driscoll, Donnacha Ryan, Tommy O’Donnell, Peter O’Mahony.

Replacements: Denis Fogarty, Dave Kilcoyne, Stephen Archer, David O’Callaghan, Paddy Butler, Tomas O’Leary, Ronan O’Gara, Ivan Dineen.