Jump to main content


Connacht Head To Glasgow In Buoyant Mood

Connacht Head To Glasgow In Buoyant Mood

Connacht boss Eric Elwood has announced an extended squad to face Glasgow Warriors in their RaboDirect PRO12 season finale at Firhil Stadium on Saturday (kick-off 7.30pm).

With favourable results from Leinster and Ulster last weekend, Heineken Cup rugby will be returning to the Sportsground for a second successive season.

In the RaboDirect PRO12, Connacht have converted good performances into wins of late and victory at Firhill Stadium would be a fourth in succession for the westerners.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The Newport Gwent Dragons and Ulster were convincingly defeated, and a last-gasp 55-metre penalty from Matthew Jarvis ensured a narrow triumph over Aironi last time out.

The province’s recent upsurge in form has been aided by a resolute defence that has conceded only six tries in the past four games. This improved performance in defensive duties has also seen a reduction in penalties conceded.

The offensive threat has become increasingly potent, with an average of 23 points scored in each game.

Connacht go into the round 22 match in buoyant mood, unbeaten against hosts Glasgow in the last three encounters.

The home fixture against Glasgow this season ended in a draw, a late Niall O’Connor penalty producing a share of the spoils in a compelling 13-13 draw.

Last season saw Connacht achieve the double over the Warriors, with a memorable 19-17 victory in the corresponding fixture – the team’s first away win in over two years.

CONNACHT Squad (v Glasgow Warriors) – Backs (12): Gavin Duffy (capt), Fetu’u Vainikolo, Tiernan O’Halloran, James Loxton, Kyle Tonetti, Eoin Griffin, Henry Fa’afili, Miah Nikora, Jack Carty, Matthew Jarvis, Paul O’Donohoe, Frank Murphy.

Forwards (15): Ethienne Reynecke, Adrian Flavin, Dermot Murphy, Denis Buckley, Stewart Maguire, Rodney Ah You, Ronan Loughney, Michael Swift, Michael Kearney, Mike McCarthy, David Gannon, John Muldoon, Ray Ofisa, Johnny O’Connor, George Naoupu.