Jump to main content


Cullen Captains Leinster For Interpro Derby

Cullen Captains Leinster For Interpro Derby

The Leinster team to face Ulster in Friday night’s RaboDirect PRO12 derby encounter at Ravenhill (kick-off 7.05pm) has been named.

In all there are 13 Ireland-qualified players in Leinster’s starting line-up including scrum half Eoin Reddan, who links up with Jonathan Sexton at half-back for his 60th appearance for the province.

Luke Fitzgerald is named in the back-three alongside the Kearney brothers, Rob and David.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Unfortunately, Eoin O’Malley was a late withdrawal this morning after a recurrence of his calf strain forced him from the training pitch, thus Fergus McFadden, earning his 70th Leinster cap, will partner Brian O’Driscoll in the centre.

Up front, Cian Healy, Richardt Strauss and Mike Ross start in the front row, with All Black Brad Thorn locking down alongside skipper Leo Cullen.

Kevin McLaughlin, who will also be making his 70th Leinster appearance, joins fellow ex-Gonzaga College student Dominic Ryan in the back row alongside the returning Sean O’Brien who starts at number 8.

If Ireland scrum half Isaac Boss, one of four Ireland internationals on the bench, is used as a replacement it will be his 50th outing for Leinster.

LEINSTER (v Ulster): Rob Kearney; David Kearney, Brian O’Driscoll, Fergus McFadden, Luke Fitzgerald; Jonathan Sexton, Eoin Reddan; Cian Healy, Richardt Strauss, Mike Ross, Leo Cullen (capt), Brad Thorn, Kevin McLaughlin, Dominic Ryan, Sean O’Brien.

Replacements: Sean Cronin, Heinke van der Merwe, Nathan White, Devin Toner, Shane Jennings, Isaac Boss, Ian Madigan, Fionn Carr.