Jump to main content


Connacht Squad Announced For Aironi Game

Connacht Squad Announced For Aironi Game

Connacht head coach Eric Elwood has announced an extended 26-man squad to face Aironi at the Sportsground on Saturday evening (kick-off 5pm).

There is only one omission from last weekend’s squad with prop Brett Wilkinson sidelined after picking up a calf injury in the victory over Ulster last weekend.

Ray Ofisa has recovered from the knock that saw him replaced early on in that match and fellow forward Adrian Flavin will face a late fitness test to assess his availability after missing out against the Ulstermen.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Connacht are looking to finish the season on a high and after recent victories over the Dragons and Ulster, Eric Elwood’s men are well placed to climb the RaboDirect PRO12 table.

Just two points separate Connacht from the Dragons and Benetton Treviso and a best ever eighth place finish is certainly within reach.

Connacht Rugby will throw open its doors for a Family Fun Day this Saturday. From 2.30pm, the Sportsground will be transformed with bouncy castles, obstacle courses, rugby skills, meet the players and much more. Further details can be found on www.connachtrugby.ie.

CONNACHT Squad (v Aironi Rugby) – Backs (11): Frank Murphy, Paul O’Donohoe, Miah Nikora, Matthew Jarvis, Eoin Griffin, Henry Fa’afili, Kyle Tonetti, Tiernan O’Halloran, Fetu’u Vainikolo, James Loxton, Gavin Duffy (capt).

Forwards (15): Ronan Loughney, Stewart Maguire, Denis Buckley, Rodney Ah You, Ethienne Reynecke, Dermot Murphy, Adrian Flavin, Michael Swift, Mike McCarthy, Michael Kearney, Eoin McKeon, John Muldoon, Johnny O’Connor, Ray Ofisa, George Naoupu.