Jump to main content


Wholesale Changes To Leinster Team

Wholesale Changes To Leinster Team

The Leinster team to face Edinburgh in Friday night’s RaboDirect PRO12 clash at the RDS (kick-off 7.45pm) has been named.

Jamie Heaslip captains the selected team and the Naas man is one of only three survivors in the starting line-up from last weekend’s Heineken Cup quarter-final win over the Cardiff Blues.

In all, there are eight Ireland internationals in the side to face Edinburgh with Heaslip joined in the back row by Shane Jennings and Rhys Ruddock.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Damian Browne makes his 20th appearance of the season and partners Devin Toner in the second row, with Sean Cronin joining Heinke van der Merwe and Nathan White in the front row after all three featured as second half replacements against Cardiff.

Isaac Boss forms the half-back partnership with the in-form Ian Madigan, who is second in the league’s try-scoring list this season with seven in 17 games.

Madigan is in line to make his 45th Leinster appearance with Fergus McFadden lining up at outside centre alongside Gordon D’Arcy.

Fionn Carr, making his 18th appearance of the season, right winger David Kearney and Isa Nacewa, one of the try scorers against the Blues, complete the line-up.

Kevin McLaughlin, Eoin Reddan and Richardt Strauss are named amongst a replacements bench which sees a blend of youth and experience including promising prop Martin Moore.

The 22-year-old Lansdowne front rower could make his senior debut for the province whom he previously captained at Under-20 level.

Over 15,600 tickets have been sold for Friday’s game which will incorporate the specially themed ‘Leinster Rugby Spring Fling’

The ‘Leinster Spring Fling’ is a bumper family day including a giant inflatable slide, bouncy castle, ropes course and climbing wall, a fairground including old style bumper cars, carnival games and a carousel, a treasure hunt around the RDS featuring Leo the Lion (starts at 6.45pm from the Leinster Rugby Store) and a display of acrobatic bike riders in the ‘pocket’ area behind the South Stand.

Tickets are on sale now for €;10 for juniors, €;20 for adults and €;50 for a family of four, from Ticketmaster outlets nationwide, online here, and a limited selection from the Leinster Rugby Store and Spar Donnybrook (excludes family tickets).

LEINSTER (v Edinburgh): Isa Nacewa; David Kearney, Fergus McFadden, Gordon D’Arcy, Fionn Carr; Ian Madigan, Isaac Boss; Heinke van der Merwe, Sean Cronin, Nathan White, Damian Browne, Devin Toner, Rhys Ruddock, Shane Jennings, Jamie Heaslip (capt).

Replacements: Richardt Strauss, Jack McGrath, Martin Moore, Kevin McLaughlin, Leo Auva’a, Eoin Reddan, Noel Reid, Brendan Macken.