Jump to main content


Ulster Squad Strengthened For Aironi Game

Ulster Squad Strengthened For Aironi Game

Ireland trio Rory Best, Andrew Trimble and Stephen Ferris have been named in the Ulster squad ahead of Friday night’s RaboDirect PRO12 match against Aironi Rugby at Ravenhill (kick-off 7.05pm).

Pedrie Wannenburg has overcome illness to be selected in Brian McLaughlin’s 32-man panel to face the Italian outfit.

Ireland Wolfhounds prop Declan Fitzpatrick has been given the all-clear following his neck injury. He makes a welcome return to the squad.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The early withdrawal of captain Johann Muller and centre Darren Cave against Benetton Treviso last Saturday was precautionary, so both players are available for selection.

Tim Barker is the only fresh injury concern after a back injury ruled him out of consideration. Simon Danielli (hamstring) and Mike McComish (concussion) remain sidelined.

McLaughlin will be hoping his side can continue their good form with a Heineken Cup quarter-final against Munster on the horizon.

His charges are currently the best performing team in the PRO12, having picked up 24 points from their last six matches.

The Ulstermen’s only defeat in the competition since December was a 21-14 loss at the Cardiff Blues on February 17.

Tickets for Friday’s game are available by calling into the Ticket Office, telephoning 02890493222 (option 2) or online by clicking here.

Supporters are encouraged to make use of the complimentary Park ’n’ Ride facilities on Ulster Rugby matchdays located at Pirrie Park on the Ravenhill side of the ground, and along Montgomery Road, on the Mount Merrion side of the ground.

ULSTER Squad (v Aironi Rugby) – Backs (14): Paul Marshall, Ruan Pienaar, Ian Porter, Ian Humphreys, Paddy Jackson, Luke Marshall, Paddy Wallace, Ian Whitten, Nevin Spence, Darren Cave, Stefan Terblanche, Craig Gilroy, Andrew Trimble, Adam D’Arcy.

Forwards (18): Callum Black, Tom Court, Adam Macklin, Declan Fitzpatrick, John Afoa, Jerry Cronin, Paddy McAllister, Rory Best, Nigel Brady, Lewis Stevenson, Dan Tuohy, Johann Muller (capt), Neil McComb, Stephen Ferris, Willie Faloon, Pedrie Wannenburg, Chris Henry, Robbie Diack.