Jump to main content


Thorn Included In Leinster ‘A’ Line-Up

Thorn Included In Leinster ‘A’ Line-Up

The Leinster ‘A’ team to face Connacht in Wednesday afternoon’s interprovincia clashl at Old Belvedere RFC (kick-off 3pm) has been named.

New Zealander Mat Berquist, back from a long-term knee injury, is included in a Leinster panel for the first time in a little over six months.

Berquist partners John Cooney at half-back, with Colm O’Shea set to renew his centre partnership with Brendan Macken.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

In the pack, the province’s latest Kiwi recruit Brad Thorn will make his first appearance in Leinster colours with the All Black World Cup winner set to lock down alongside Mark Flanagan.

Jack McGrath leads the side from the front row, while Rhys Ruddock joins Dominic Ryan and number 8 Leo Auva’a in a strong back row combination.

A wider replacements bench has been named as the province step up their preparations for the British & Irish Cup semi-final against Munster ‘A’ at the RDS on Good Friday, April 6 (kick-off 6pm).

LEINSTER ‘A’ (v Connacht ‘A’): Andrew Conway; Andrew Boyle, Brendan Macken, Colm O’Shea, Darren Hudson; Mat Berquist, John Cooney; Jack McGrath (capt), Aaron Dundon, Jamie Hagan, Brad Thorn, Mark Flanagan, Rhys Ruddock, Dominic Ryan, Leo Auva’a.

Replacements (from): Tom Sexton, James Tracy, Martin Moore, Jordi Murphy, David Doyle, Alan O’Connor, Noel Reid, Steve Crosbie, Sam Coghlan Murray.