Jump to main content


Munster Announce Squad For Newport Trip

Munster Announce Squad For Newport Trip

With 20 players either injured or not available to train because of their involvement with the Ireland squad, Munster have named a 29-man panel for Saturday’s RaboDirect PRO12 match against the Newport Gwent Dragons.

Danny Barnes is missing from the selection having sustained a knee injury in last weekend’s win over the Cardiff Blues, but recent signing Savenaca Tokula is in contention to feature in Newport.

Also included for the province are Damien Varley and Denis Hurley, both of whom have been training with the Ireland squad at Carton House this week.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Hooker Varley was dispatched on Wednesday but backs Hurley and Simon Zebo, an absentee from the selected Munster squad, will remain in the Irish camp until Friday.

MUNSTER Squad (v Newport Gwent Dragons) – Backs (12): Felix Jones, Luke O’Dea, Sean Scanlon, Johne Murphy, Denis Hurley, Savenaca Tokula, Lifeimi Mafi, Ian Keatley, Scott Deasy, Tomas O’Leary, Duncan Williams, Cathal Sheridan.

Forwards (17): Marcus Horan, Wian du Preez, Sean Henry, Mike Sherry, Denis Fogarty, Damien Varley, John Ryan, Stephen Archer, BJ Botha, Ian Nagle, Dave Foley, Mick O’Driscoll, Billy Holland, Tommy O’Donnell, David O’Callaghan, Paddy Butler, James Coughlan.