Jump to main content


Ulster Select Squad For Edinburgh Encounter

Ulster Select Squad For Edinburgh Encounter

Head coach Brian McLaughlin has named a 33-man panel ahead of Ulster’s RaboDirect PRO12 clash with Edinburgh this Friday night at Ravenhill (kick-off 7.05pm).

Simon Danielli has been ruled out of the fixture after picking up a hamstring injury in last Friday’s 15-14 win over the Ospreys. The Scotland international entered the fray as a replacement but limped off after just 10 minutes.

Out-half Paddy Jackson and second row Iain Henderson have been added to the squad as the Ireland Under-20s have no game this weekend.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Chris Henry has been training with the Ireland senior squad this week but may be available for Ulster on Friday.

Paddy Wallace has been installed as captain against Edinburgh to ensure minimal disruption to the match preparations.

Ulster have won four of their last five matches against Edinburgh, while the Scots have not been victorious at Ravenhill since September 2009.

The Ulstermen have lost just one of their last 18 encounters at Ravenhill in all competitions since December 2010, going down 23-12 to Benetton Treviso on October 7.

Last Friday’s win over the Ospreys moved Ulster up to fifth in the table, just two points off the play-off spots.

Tickets for the Ulster v Edinburgh match are still available at the Ravenhill Ticket Office, by calling 028 9049 3222, or online at www.ulsterrugby.com. Tickets will also be available at the gate on match night.

Ulster Rugby are appealing to supporters to be mindful of local residents and to avoid parking in the immediate vicinity of the Ravenhill grounds on match nights.

Fans are encouraged to make use of the complimentary Park ’n’ Ride facilities on Ulster matchdays located at Pirrie Park on the Ravenhill side of the ground, and along Montgomery Road, on the Mount Merrion side of the ground.

ULSTER Squad (v Edinburgh) – Backs (15): Paul Marshall, Ruan Pienaar, Ian Porter, Ian Humphreys, Paddy Jackson, James McKinney, Paddy Wallace (capt), Luke Marshall, Ian Whitten, Nevin Spence, Stefan Terblanche, Craig Gilroy, Conor Gaston, Chris Cochrane, Adam D’Arcy.

Forwards (18): Callum Black, Adam Macklin, John Afoa, Jerry Cronin, Paddy McAllister, Niall Annett, Andi Kyriacou, Nigel Brady, Lewis Stevenson, Iain Henderson, Dan Tuohy, Tim Barker, Neil McComb, Pedrie Wannenburg, Mike McComish, Willie Faloon, Robbie Diack, Chris Henry.