Jump to main content


Leinster Give Debut To O’Shea

Leinster Give Debut To O’Shea

The Leinster team to face Benetton Treviso in Thursday night’s RaboDirect PRO12 clash at the RDS (kick-off 7.05pm) has been named.

Dubliner Colm O’Shea will make his debut for the province. The 21-year-old Clontarf clubman, who has featured in four British & Irish Cup games so far this season, will form a midfield partnership with Brendan Macken in a team mixed with youth and experience.

Isaac Boss links up with Ian Madigan at half-back, with Fionn Carr forming a pacey back-three alongside Darren Hudson and Isa Nacewa.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Kevin McLaughlin leads the team after recovering from injury and is named in a back row combination with fellow Ireland international Shane Jennings as well as Leo Auva’a.

South African Heinke van der Merwe makes his 49th appearance for the province, linking up with Richardt Strauss and Nathan White in a powerful front row.

There will be the usual ‘Family Day’ activity around the ground from 5.30pm. Meanwhile, ticket sales for Thursday’s game have passed the 15,600 mark and there will be tickets on sale on the gate.

Tickets are on sale currently from the Leinster Rugby Store (Donnybrook), Spar (Donnybrook) and Ticketmaster outlets nationwide.

LEINSTER (v Benetton Treviso): Isa Nacewa; Darren Hudson, Brendan Macken, Colm O’Shea, Fionn Carr; Ian Madigan, Isaac Boss; Heinke van der Merwe, Richardt Strauss, Nathan White, Damian Browne, Devin Toner, Kevin McLaughlin (capt), Shane Jennings, Leo Auva’a.

Replacements: Tom Sexton, Jack McGrath, Jamie Hagan, Mark Flanagan, Jordi Murphy, John Cooney, Noel Reid, Andrew Boyle.