Jump to main content


Ulster Select Provisional Squad For Munster Match

Ulster Select Provisional Squad For Munster Match

Head coach Brian McLaughlin has named a provisional squad ahead of Ulster’s sold-out interprovincial encounter with Munster at Ravenhill on Friday (kick-off 7.05pm).

Many of the young players who faced Leinster in Monday’s defeat at the RDS have been named in the provisional squad.

The panel also includes some of the more experienced players that Brian McLaughlin rested for the trip to Dublin, with the festive clash with Munster coming just four days later. Ulster’s Ireland internationals are not available for selection.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Speaking after the 42-13 loss to Leinster, McLaughlin said: “I thought our youngsters held their hand up exceptionally well on the night. The scoreline flattered Leinster a little bit.

“We’ve got to take a look at these young fellas, the way they tackled, the way they defended but also the way they attacked – they’ve a little bit to learn there.

“There was a period in the first half when we had an opportunity and a period in the second half when we had an opportunity and on these big stages you’ve to take those chances. We didn’t tonight and unfortunately the game got away from us.

“All credit to them, you can’t fault them in any way and they did their province exceptionally proud tonight.

“They made Leinster work hard for parts of the game – from my point of view this has been a good night for the young guys and a superb learning experience.

“They key thing is that they learn from this evening, they’ve got to because they were in the game for long periods of time but when you get opportunities at this level you’ve got to take them.”

As Friday’s game is sold out, there will be no tickets for sale at the gates on matchday. Supporters with tickets are advised to make their way to ground with plenty of time, gates open at 5.30pm.

For those without tickets, the interpro derby will be broadcast live on BBC 2 Northern Ireland and RTÉ Two.

Ticket zoning and scanning will be in operation at the ground. Supporters should check their tickets to ensure that they are entering through the correct gate. Further details are available here.

Ulster Rugby are advising supporters coming to the game to avoid parking in the immediate vicinity of Ravenhill and that the following roads are only accessible for residents and closed to everyone else:

1. Onslow Parade
2. Ravenhill Park
3. Ravenhill Park Gardens

There will also be parking restrictions in place in the Castlereagh area (Mount Merrion Avenue). Fans are encouraged to make use of the Park ‘n’ Ride facilities at Pirrie Park and along Montgomery Road.

ULSTER Squad (v Munster) – Backs (14): Adam D’Arcy, Stefan Terblanche, Peter Nelson, Simon Danielli, Chris Cochrane, Michael Allen, Craig Gilroy, Ian Whitten, Darren Cave, Chris Farrell, Ian Humphreys, Ruan Pienaar, Ian Porter, Paul Marshall.

Forwards (18): John Afoa, Paddy McAllister, Adam Macklin, Callum Black, Jerry Cronin, Nigel Brady, Andi Kyriacou, Niall Annett, Johann Muller, Lewis Stevenson, Tim Barker, Dan Tuohy, Neil McComb, Willie Faloon, Chris Henry, Pedrie Wannenburg, Robbie Diack, Ali Birch.