Jump to main content


Two Changes For Connacht

Two Changes For Connacht

Connacht head coach Eric Elwood has announced his starting line-up and replacements for Saturday’s Heineken Cup round 4 encounter with Gloucester at Kingsholm (kick-off 3.40pm).

The selected side shows just two changes to the one that started last weekend’s narrow loss to Gloucester at the Sportsground.

Johnny O’Connor’s timely return to fitness sees him replace Ray Ofisa, who was taken off with a knee injury in the first of these back-to-back pool fixtures.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Meanwhile, in the backs division, Eoin Griffin steps in for recent Connacht debutant Kyle Tonetti who drops down to the replacements bench.

The only other change sees Dylan Rogers take over from Denis Buckley as one of the reserve props.

Connacht have recently been boosted by the re-signing of four key contracts and all four players will start this weekend’s match.

Centres Griffin and David McSharry have both committed to the province for the next two years as has former captain John Muldoon, with fellow Ireland international O’Connor singing up until at least the end on the 2012/13 season.

CONNACHT (v Gloucester): Gavin Duffy (capt); Mark McCrea, Eoin Griffin, David McSharry, Tiernan O’Halloran; Niall O’Connor, Frank Murphy; Brett Wilkinson, Ethienne Reynecke, Ronan Loughney, George Naoupu, Mike McCarthy, David Gannon, Johnny O’Connor, John Muldoon.

Replacements: Adrian Flavin, Dylan Rogers, Rodney Ah You, Michael Kearney, Eoin McKeon, Paul O’Donohoe, Matthew Jarvis, Kyle Tonetti.