Jump to main content


Ulster Name Squad For Return Clash With Aironi

Ulster Name Squad For Return Clash With Aironi

Ulster head coach Brian McLaughlin has named a 34-man squad ahead of this weekend’s trip to Monza where the province face Aironi in round 4 of the Heineken Cup.

Ulster secured a vital five points from last weekend’s encounter with the Italians at Ravenhill with tries from Adam D’Arcy, man-of-the-match Stephen Ferris, Andrew Trimble, Ian Humphreys and Paddy Jackson.

Centre Nevin Spence left the pitch during the game with a rib injury but will be assessed throughout the week and has not been ruled out of contention for selection at this stage.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Paddy Wallace, Jared Payne and Declan Fitzpatrick remain on the province’s injury list. Brian McLaughlin will confirm his team and replacements on Friday afternoon.

Elsewhere in Pool 4, Clermont Auvergne defeated Leicester at the Stade Marcel Michelin 30-12 on Sunday with no bonus points scored, making the pool the tightest in the tournament at this stage with just two points separating the top three teams.

ULSTER Squad (v Aironi) – Backs (14): Paul Marshall, Ian Porter, Ruan Pienaar, Ian Humphreys, Paddy Jackson, Nevin Spence, Luke Marshall, Ian Whitten, Darren Cave, Craig Gilroy, Simon Danielli, Andrew Trimble, Adam D’Arcy, Stefan Terblanche.

Forwards (20): Paddy McAllister, Callum Black, Tom Court, Adam Macklin, John Afoa, Jerry Cronin, Andi Kyriacou, Nigel Brady, Rory Best, Lewis Stevenson, Johann Muller (capt), Dan Tuohy, Tim Barker, Neil McComb, Stephen Ferris, Mike McComish, Pedrie Wannenburg, Willie Faloon, Chris Henry, Robbie Diack.