Jump to main content


Ulster Ravens Team Named For Pontypridd Tie

Ulster Ravens Team Named For Pontypridd Tie

Gary Longwell has named a strong Ulster Ravens team for their British & Irish Cup game against Pontypridd on Saturday at Deramore Park (kick-off 2.30pm).

Nigel Brady will captain the team from hooker and is joined in the front row by the experienced Callum Black and Jerry Cronin.

Tim Barker and Neil McComb continue their successful second row partnership, while Ali Birch, Willie Faloon and Mike McComish form an athletic back row unit.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

The players behind the scrum are less experienced, but all members of the back-line have featured for the province’s senior side, including Chris Farrell and Peter Nelson who played in pre-season friendlies.

The replacements bench has a youthful look to it with Phoenix Academy members Conor Carey, James Simpson, Sean O’Connell, Blane McIlroy, Michael Allen and Ricky Andrew joining Development player Niall Annett.

With two matches played to date, the Ravens currently sit third in their pool on nine points, although both Nottingham (13 points) and Leeds (10 points) have each played an extra game.

Ravens coach Gary Longwell feels the British & Irish Cup is a worthwhile competition for his players, saying: “It is important for our young players coming through to gain experience at this level as it is a good learning experience.

“It also gives some of the senior players some vital time on the pitch.”

He added: “Pontypridd are a very good side. They have won nine of their opening 11 games in the Welsh Principality League, so they will be coming here full of confidence and we will have to play well to get a positive result on Saturday.”

ULSTER RAVENS (v Pontypridd): Peter Nelson; Conor Gaston, Ian Whitten, Chris Farrell, Chris Cochrane; James McKinney, Ian Porter; Callum Black, Nigel Brady (capt), Jerry Cronin, Tim Barker, Neil McComb, Ali Birch, Willie Faloon, Mike McComish.

Replacements: Niall Annett, Conor Carey, James Simpson, Sean O’Connell, Blane McIlroy, Michael Allen, Ricky Andrew.