Jump to main content


Ulster Name Squad For Aironi Encounter

Ulster Name Squad For Aironi Encounter

Ulster have included new signing Stefan Terblanche in their provisional squad for Friday’s Heineken Cup round 3 match against Aironi at Ravenhill (kick-off 7.30pm).

Stefan Terblanche, the South African full-back, arrived in Belfast over the weekend and is set to play some part against the Italians.

The 36-year-old has been drafted in on a short-term deal as cover for Jared Payne who has been ruled out for the remainder of the season.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Declan Fitzpatrick is again sidelined by the neck injury he suffered in the Glasgow game two weeks ago. Ruan Pienaar came through his 20-minute cameo against the Scarlets last Friday unscathed and is back in contention for a starting place.

The Ulstermen shared a pool with Aironi in last season’s Heineken Cup and picked up 10 points from the two games, scoring ten tries in the process.

This season Brian McLaughlin’s charges currently sit in third place after two rounds, two points behind Clermont Auvergne and four behind leaders Leicester Tigers. Friday’s opponents Aironi are yet to register a point.

Tickets are still available for the Ulster-Aironi tie and can be bought online at www.ulsterrugby.com or by calling the ticket office on 02890493222 (ticketing option). Alternatively, you can pay at the gate on match night.

Supporters should check their tickets to ensure that they are entering through the correct gate. Further details are available here.

Ulster Rugby are advising fans coming to the game (gates open 5.30pm) to avoid parking in the immediate vicinity of the Ravenhill grounds and that the following roads are only accessible for residents and closed to everyone else:

1. Onslow Parade
2. Ravenhill Park
3. Ravenhill Park Gardens

There will also be parking restrictions in place in the Castlereagh area (Mount Merrion Avenue). Supporters are encouraged to make use of the Park ‘n’ Ride facilities at Pirrie Park and along Montgomery Road.

ULSTER Squad (v Aironi Rugby) – Backs (14): Paul Marshall, Ian Porter, Ruan Pienaar, Ian Humphreys, Paddy Jackson, Nevin Spence, Luke Marshall, Ian Whitten, Darren Cave, Craig Gilroy, Simon Danielli, Andrew Trimble, Adam D’Arcy, Stefan Terblanche.

Forwards (20): Paddy McAllister, Callum Black, Tom Court, Adam Macklin, John Afoa, Jerry Cronin, Andi Kyriacou, Nigel Brady, Rory Best, Lewis Stevenson, Johann Muller (capt), Dan Tuohy, Tim Barker, Neil McComb, Stephen Ferris, Mike McComish, Pedrie Wannenburg, Willie Faloon, Chris Henry, Robbie Diack.