Jump to main content


Ulster Announce Provisional Squad

Ulster Announce Provisional Squad

Ulster head coach Brian McLaughlin has named a provisional 30-man squad ahead of the province’s RaboDirect PRO12 trip to Glasgow Warriors on Friday (kick-off 7.35pm).

The Ulster management have taken the decision to rest Stephen Ferris and Rory Best due to the large number of games they have played in recent months.

Luke Marshall (jaw) and Jerry Cronin (neck) have returned to training after a number of weeks on the sidelines and may be in contention for some game-time this weekend. Callum Black could make his competitive debut for the province after recovering from a neck injury.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Both Ulster and Glasgow emerged from the opening rounds of the Heineken Cup with one win and a loss.

They will now turn their attentions back to the RaboDirect PRO12, where the Scottish outfit currently occupy one of the four play-off spots. Ulster sit in seventh position, five points adrift of the Warriors.

Glasgow’s five-match winning run in all competitions came to a halt against Leinster in the Heineken Cup last Sunday.

The Warriors have won five of their last six matches in the league, and have been victorious in their last three encounters at Firhill Stadium.

The Ulstermen will approach this game with confidence, having won five of their last six matches against Scottish opponents.

The two side met in the reverse fixture earlier in the season, with Ulster claiming a 28-14 win at Ravenhill courtesy of tries from Paul Marshall, Darren Cave and Chris Henry.

ULSTER Squad (v Glasgow Warriors) Backs (12): Paul Marshall, Ian Porter, Ian Humphreys, Paddy Jackson, Nevin Spence, Luke Marshall, Ian Whitten, Darren Cave, Craig Gilroy, Simon Danielli, Andrew Trimble, Adam D’Arcy.

Forwards (18): Paddy McAllister, Callum Black, Tom Court, Adam Macklin, Declan Fitzpatrick, Jerry Cronin, Andi Kyriacou, Nigel Brady, Lewis Stevenson, Johann Muller, Dan Tuohy, Tim Barker, Neil McComb, Mike McComish, Pedrie Wannenburg, Willie Faloon, Chris Henry, Robbie Diack.