Jump to main content


Two Changes For Munster ‘A’

Two Changes For Munster ‘A’

Munster ‘A’ head coach Ian Costello has made two changes in personnel – one up front and one in the backs – as his side face into what is a ‘must win’ game against Neath if they hope to feature in the British & Irish Cup’s knockout stages later this season.

Mick O’Driscoll was one of the province’s best performers against Cornish Pirates in Clonmel in the pool opener, but he will be travelling with the senior squad to France this weekend as will Scott Deasy who kicked their points against the English side.

For Saturday afternoon’s encounter with Neath at the Gnoll (kick-off 2.30pm), David Foley takes over from O’Driscoll in the second row.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

JJ Hanarahan, who started at inside centre in Clonmel, switches to out-half in place of Deasy and will be partnered by Duncan Williams who gets the nod ahead of Peter Stringer.

Hanrahan’s switch means a reshuffle of midfield with Tom Gleeson this time wearing the number 12 jersey and Corey Hircock filling the outside centre berth, with Cork Constitution’s Johnny Holland named in the squad for the first time in the competition.

MUNSTER ‘A’ (v Neath): Luke O’Dea; Ronan O’Mahony, Corey Hircock, Tom Gleeson, Simon Zebo; JJ Hanrahan, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Sean Henry, Stephen Archer, David Foley, Ian Nagle, Billy Holland (capt), Tommy O’Donnell, Paddy Butler.

Replacements: Alan Cotter, Duncan Casey, Brian Hayes, Brian O’Hara, Peter Stringer, Johnny Holland (Cork Constitution), Darren Moroney (UL Bohemians).