Jump to main content


Leinster Make Changes For Glasgow Encounter

Leinster Make Changes For Glasgow Encounter

The Leinster team to meet Glasgow Warriors in Sunday’s Heineken Cup Pool 3 clash at the RDS (kick-off 12.45pm) has been named.

Eoin Reddan will make his first start of the season, lining out at half-back alongside Jonathan Sexton who will be winning his 80th Leinster cap.

The chosen back-line shows two changes from the one which started the opening round 16-16 draw in Montpellier last weekend.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

With Fergus McFadden ruled out with a dead leg, Eoin O’Malley comes in for his third Heineken Cup appearance. The 23-year-old will partner Gordon D’Arcy in the centre. Luke Fitzgerald continues in the back-three alongside Rob Kearney and Isa Nacewa.

Up front, Sean Cronin has been handed his first Heineken Cup start after an impressive try-scoring display in France. He starts in the front row beside fellow Ireland international Mike Ross and Heinke van der Merwe.

Leo Cullen partners the province’s Player of the Month Devin Toner in the second row with Kevin McLaughlin continuing alongside Sean O’Brien and Jamie Heaslip in the back row. In all, there are five Ireland internationals on the bench including the fit-again Cian Healy.

With over 17,250 tickets already for Sunday’s lunchtime kick-off, supporters are reminded that although tickets are selling fast, there are still some available online here and from the Leinster Rugby Store (Donnybrook), Spar (Donnybrook) and Ticketmaster outlets nationwide.

LEINSTER (v Glasgow Warriors): Rob Kearney; Isa Nacewa, Eoin O’Malley, Gordon D’Arcy, Luke Fitzgerald; Jonathan Sexton, Eoin Reddan; Heinke van der Merwe, Sean Cronin, Mike Ross, Leo Cullen (capt), Devin Toner, Kevin McLaughlin, Sean O’Brien, Jamie Heaslip.

Replacements: Richardt Strauss, Cian Healy, Nathan White, Rhys Ruddock, Shane Jennings, Isaac Boss, Ian Madigan, Fionn Carr.