Jump to main content


Connacht Call On Gannon

Connacht Call On Gannon

Connacht head coach Eric Elwood has announced his team and replacements to face French giants Toulouse at the Sportsground on Saturday evening (kick-off 6pm).

The selected side shows just one change to the team that came close to victory in Connacht’s first ever Heineken Cup match against Harlequins last weekend.

David Gannon joins the province’s most-capped player Michael Swift in the second row and Ray Ofisa moves to the replacements bench.

Google Ad Manager – 300×250 – In Article

Mike McCarthy will take his place at blindside flanker with former captain John Muldoon at openside and George Naoupu at number 8. Brett Wilkinson, Adrian Flavin and Rodney Ah You make up the front row.

The backline that outscored Harlequins by two tries to one in the opening round remains unchanged, with Paul O’Donohoe partnering Miah Nikora at half-back.

The electric pace of Eoin Griffin coupled with the physicality of David McSharry complete a young and promising centre partnership, while try scorer Tiernan O’Halloran, Brian Tuohy and captain Gavin Duffy combine in the back-three.

Meanwhile, Connacht have confirmed that the province’s home debut in the tournament will be a sell-out. There are 9,000 spectators expected at the ground for the visit of the four-time European champions.

Although regular matchday tickets are now sold out, there are still a limited numbers of Hospitality tickets available for just €;100.

The Hospitality ticket package includes: your match day ticket, a matchday programme, marquee hospitality, pre-match complimentary bar, buffet meal, guest speaker Trevor Brennan, full cash bar facilities at half-time and after the game, post-match entertainment and you will have the chance to meet the Connacht players.

Get your Hospitality ticket now by contacting Lyndsy on tel: 091 561568 or email: lyndsy@cbirfu.com.

CONNACHT (v Toulouse): Gavin Duffy (capt); Tiernan O’Halloran, Eoin Griffin, David McSharry, Brian Tuohy; Miah Nikora, Paul O’Donohoe; Brett Wilkinson, Adrian Flavin, Rodney Ah You, Michael Swift, David Gannon, Mike McCarthy, John Muldoon, George Naoupu.

Replacements: Ethienne Reynecke, Ronan Loughney, Dylan Rogers, Thomas Anderson, Ray Ofisa, Frank Murphy, Niall O’Connor, Henry Fa’afili.